Shifting from Misfit to Miss Fit


Barbara Joye - The Shift Guru
Barbara Joye – The Shift Guru

Please enjoy Yvonne’s Shift Experience in this three part series:

Being raised in a conservative Baptist church, my religious training started when I was two weeks old and my parents dedicated me to God. As I grew up, I never questioned my family’s strict, yet inconsistent, hypocritical moral code until I became a teenager. Even then, I never got into any serious trouble as I left home at seventeen to marry. My first husband and I raised our children in an independent, severely fundamental, Baptist Church where everything was taboo. Sin was spelled “f-u-n” so, if there was fun to be had, we couldn’t join in. When my marriage ended 22 years later, I began to question everything I had ever been taught and found that many of my religious beliefs no longer served me.
That was a turning point in my life. Some fundamentalists love a martyr to the point that they teach codependency, female subservience, and total allegiance to their leaders. I had been taught that a wife should submit to the rule of her husband, to never question God or her pastor, and that all the circumstances in my life were not my fault—it was simply God’s will for me to suffer. I was disempowered to believe that I was not responsible for my miserable life, so I kept waiting for God to bail me out or change my situation.
I felt like a misfit because inwardly I didn’t really agree with the doctrine of my religion. I often tried to balk the system when certain “rules” were being mandated to the congregation. I was often rejected or asked to leave a fellowship for voicing an opinion that questioned authority of the leadership or the validity of the church’s rules and regulations.
You can imagine how greatly I repressed my spiritual gifts while in this religion. I had dreams with premonitions, prophetic visions, apparitions and visits from the deceased, and some very bizarre physical manifestations while in intercessory prayer!
Join us on November 25th to read more of this article by Yvonne Perry—a freelance writer and editor, award-winning Amazon.com bestselling author, podcast host, blogger extraordinaire, newsletter publisher, Internet marketing guru, and an outstanding keynote speaker. She is a graduate of American Institute of Holistic Theology where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Metaphysics.
http://TheSidSeries.com

Yvonne Perry is a freelance writer and editor, award-winning Amazon.com bestselling author, podcast host, blogger extraordinaire, newsletter publisher, Internet marketing guru, and an outstanding keynote speaker. She is a graduate of American Institute of Holistic Theology where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Metaphysics.

Visit us at:  www.theshiftguru.com

19 Responses to “Shifting from Misfit to Miss Fit”

  1. Yvonne Perry Says:

    Thank you for participating in my blog tour for the Sid Series, Barbara. I’ll be back to answer any questions your readers pose.

    Yvonne

  2. knightofswords Says:

    Important changes. I just finished reading a novel by Smoky Trudeau called “Redeeming Grace” where there’s a daughter who questions her strict fundamentalistic father’s beliefs and abusiveness. Sometimes this is what it takes to cause a person to look at what the really think. With you, the divorce seemed to be the true catalyst. Each of us has, I guess, a point of no return, so to speak.

    • shiftguru Says:

      Malcolm
      Thank you for your expansion of this blog. It does seem that often we need a catalyst to create the shifts in our lives that we have been desiring for quite some time. Change, as they say, is our only constant and our greatest fear.
      Thank you again.
      The Shift Guru

  3. Tim Loomis Says:

    This feels like a wonderful series and I can’t wait to read it all… Tim

  4. Maxine Thompson Says:

    So many of us have psychic gifts that we suppress. We were told this was wrong by our religious teachers.

    When I was young, I had the connection. I lost it through the years. When I wrote the first version of my novel, Hostage of Lies, in 1997, it was a complete spiritual connection to my ancestors.

    Before it was re-issued on December 1, 2009, one of the editors at Kensington asked, “Are you saying that was Viola’s ghost?” I had to spell this out that this was true. Viola was a great-great-great grandparent to the protagonist Nefertiti, who came back and protected her during the 1967 Detroit riots.

    Maxine Thompson
    Author of Hostage of Lies, released December 1, 2009

  5. Carolyn Howard-Johnson Says:

    Just want to say I loved being part of this tour and I’d love to stay connected with fellow, caring bloggers. I’d love to know you better, Barbara.

    Many on this tour of know how important I think tours are for letting us share what we have written with others. And I’m especially eager to share Yvonne’s amazing story.
    Best,
    Carolyn Howard-Johnson
    Author of the multi award-winning The Frugal Book Promoter, http://www.budurl.com/TheFrugalBkPromo

  6. Yvonne Perry Says:

    Maxine, I’m looking forward to reading your book Hostage of Lies and having you on my podcast in early 2010. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  7. Yvonne Perry Says:

    Tim, it is a pleasure to make your acquaintance on Barbara Joye’s blog. I really appreciate your stopping by and leaving a comment.

  8. Yvonne Perry Says:

    KnightofSwords, is that you, Malcolm? I’m always amazed at how and where our paths cross. I truly appreciate your support on my blog tour.

  9. Tim Loomis Says:

    Hi Yvonne, great to meet you as well… I like your website and your book is greatly appreciated in this modern world…

  10. Barbara Techel Says:

    I think so many are making the shift… and sharing our stories of our shifts, as you have done, Yvonne, I feel will help others not be afraid to step out in who they are.

    Barbara Techel
    Award winning author of the Frankie the Walk ‘N Roll Dog Book Series
    My passion is bringing a positive face and voice to animals with disabilities
    Frankie is Official Mascot for National Disabled Pets Day and
    Wisconsin Pet Hall of Fame Companion Dog
    http://www.frankiethewalknrolldog.blogspot.com

  11. Hal Manogue Says:

    You’re changing collective awareness with your work. I appreciate you.
    Hal

  12. Dennis Martin Says:

    Yvonne is my cousin and I know she is an amazing person. I am proud to be a part of her Sid Series blog tour.

  13. Janet Riehl Says:

    I like the concept of “shift experience.” These can happen in so many ways and contexts. It’s good to take note…which will lead to greater acceptance of our intuitive lives.

    Janet Riehl

    • shiftguru Says:

      Janet,
      Thank you so much for your comment. And, I totally agree with you. When we allow the shifts in our life, we tend to me in greater alignment with out inner knowing.
      Barbara Joye

  14. http://www.savemymarriagenow.info/ Says:

    What A Wonderful Blog Post…

    [..] I saw this really great post today and I wanted to link to it. [..]…

Leave a Reply

