Patricia Shaw – author of Healers Almanac, Journey into Health with Wisdom from the 21st Century Goddesses!


I am thrilled to be a Blog Buddy on day five of the Blog Tour of author Patricia Shaw whose book Healers Almanac, Journey into Health with Wisdom from the 21st Century Goddesses!  Launches on Amazon on Thursday January 5th 2012.

Patty Shaw is an UCM minister, Reiki Master, Spiritual Counselor and teacher and has been interested in the way we heal for most of her life.  When she became a mother she took her own mom’s strategy for health care for the family and added to it by exploring many alternative healing modalities and medicine.  Over the last twenty years Patty has been helping others create happiness through creating health in our body, mind and spirit.  Patty is passionate about helping people whether it’s in her private practice, at her Reiki Clinic or at her School of Akashic Healing where she teaches others how to be spiritual healers.

Patty is also co-owner of Coventry Creations with her sister Jacki Smith. Coventry Creations is known for its candles incense and oils that inspire us to make magic the Coventry way.  No matter what’s getting in the way of your success, Coventry Creations has a candle for that.

Yesterday, Patty visited Paula Tarrant  http://inspiredwomenwork.com/healing-wisdom-for-inner-and-outer-wellness/ where they talked about being well during a demanding life.Here’s what Patty and I chatted about the other day when I got to ask her some questions about writing and living her dream.  I hope you enjoy it.

Barbara: Why did you decide to write a book?

Patty: Many people were born to write, and it is their passion. I was pulled into writing by my passion for creating a healthy and vibrant life, because at heart, I’m a fixer.  Even though I took creative writing in college, I didn’t catch the writing bug until much later.  I found that writing gave me a space where I could express my thoughts in my own time and in my own way. This was a gift to me, because I grew up shy and had a mild stutter.

This book came about because, unbeknownst to me, I was on a mission.  I wanted to know what options were available if conventional medicine couldn’t help me or my family.  Over time I had quite a repertoire of “did you try this or that” suggestions for anyone who shared their issues with me.  My friends and clients encouraged me to write it all out in book form.  So I started organizing my research and put together a book that created a map into the world of Alternative healing modalities.  I wanted others to have the benefit of my explorations.  Walking into a health food store with symptoms and wandering the isles reading labels is doing it the hard way. That’s how I got started.  It was fun, but not very efficient.

Barbara: There is much more to the healers almanac than information on alternative healing modalities, tell us about the goddesses and their messages and meditations.

Patty: The whole idea about including goddesses in this book came about when I recognized that we needed to be more personally responsible for our healing process or journey.  My experience with healing was that the doctor is in charge and we go along with his recommendations.  It wasn’t until my mother came home from her eye appointment in tears cause she was going blind in one eye but the doctor said he couldn’t find anything wrong with her eye, it was perfectly healthy, that I realized that we need to actively participate in our health care.

With that memory in my back pocket I decided we needed to empower our inner healer and to do what we need to do to get out of the old paradigm of “blindly” following our doctors; Especially when they are blocked by their own blind spots.  The goddesses became the gentle guides in helping us wake up, be empowered, values ourselves and let go of old outdated beliefs and habits.  Through the gift of meditation and using the idea that there is no time and space, the goddesses take us on twelve different internal journeys where we can heal the past and create love where it hadn’t been before.  Then we can access the courage and self esteem to be fully present in our lives.  What that means is that we let go of all the reasons we avoid being responsible and become our own hero. In this way we can truly help our healers heal us.

Barbara: You are a healer yourself, when did you decide to become a spiritual counselor and energy worker?

 Patty: This is kind of a funny story.  It started with the bible and the stories I heard as a child of the miracles Jesus performed.  I thought, well that solves a lot of problems right there.  If we all could perform miracles, we’d all be out playing instead of lying around moaning and groaning.  You know how kids are, life is simple to them.  Of course I was not able to perform miracles, it was just too hard.  I even concentrated – but nothing happened.  I guessed that when Jesus said,” what I can do, you will too”, was meant for someone else. No Biggy, I went back to hanging with my friends thinking, whoever that someone else is; they’re going to have a lot of work ahead of them.

Fast forward to 1980 something, I was mesmerized by the movie Resurrection.  There is was, right in my face, a woman who learned how to do physical healing through miraculous means.  I remember saying to myself that should be me.  No messiah complex here!  Once I snapped out of it, I realized again, I was being naïve.  Patty, it’s a movie, even though it was based on a true story, you know about Hollywood and their creative license.  This time I didn’t go back to my “playing”. I sat and pondered, ok, this idea has got me and it’s not letting go. How do I go about helping people heal when clearly I’m not Jesus or in a movie?  We all know what happens when we ask a question with our heart…we get an answer.

Mine answer was; God: Learn to be a Healer Patty. Me: Really? There are schools that teach that?  God: Yup, and they’re really close by. Oh you don’t have the money?  Well, apply for a scholarship – you’ll qualify.  There, see how easy that was.  Now run a long and play.  (God is so funny.)

So I did it, and I was good at it, AND I loved it.  And I still do. Now I have a spiritual counseling practice where I help people engage in their healing process in a very conscious way.  That means, I help them see where they have stopped growing and/or loving themselves and have become stuck and dissatisfied with their life and with themselves.  We do this is a very loving way, with all judgment suspended.  We all need a safe space to tell our stories and learn from our mistakes, forgive and move on.  I am also a Reiki Master and share the gift of Reiki at my clinic, and through my classes in Ferndale, Michigan.  My website is www.HealingWithPattyShaw.com

Barbara: You are also vice president and candle goddess at Coventry Creations. How didyou get into the candle making business?

Patty: Let me give a smidge of background for this answer. I went to MSU and studied Landscape Architecture and Park Planning and Design.  As soon as I was dumped out as a college graduate, I became pregnant with my first child and the recession of the 80’s caused park planning jobs to dry up temporarily, for a decade.  I had to execute plan B.  Have baby, and then look for fulfilling work.  I was able to land a lovely job with a Landscape company as their designer.  I had a blast doing that for 10 years before the company I worked for closed its doors.

Then, Jacki to the rescue, (queue heroic music) though, at the time I thought I was rescuing her.  My sister Jacki had started a very unique candle company with her husband and they were in over their heads and needed my expert help.  Actually she was bailing out her now divorced sister struggling with trying to become an independent landscape designer.  Anyway, let the records show that it was a mutual rescuing.  At first I was completely non-committal.  I was Just hanging out, making sure their company, got on its feet and until I found something on my chosen career path.  I had a degree to honor after all.

A few years into it, I decided to stay with Coventry Creations.  Working with Jacki gave me more freedom to explore what running a company with zip experience was like, learn the difference between religion and spirituality, and help people.  Everything I was looking for in a career.  God /Goddess strikes again.

Jacki has dubbed me candle goddess because I run the operations in the factory, including the sacred space.  Turns out I’m a natural factory rat.  I’m a spiritual rat though; more in line with Splinter, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles sensei.

Barbara: What is the philosophy behind Coventry?

Patty: As I had mentioned, Coventry is a very unique candle company and was very cutting edge back in the day.  At Coventry Creations we make Blessed Herbal Candles and we caused quite a stir in those early years, especially among our Christian friends and family.  We bless our own candles, gasp!, work in a sacred space and give people permission to create their own reality through creative visualization, meditating and uplifting their vibration.  Yes, yes I know that’s not new, not even in the 80’s, but we were the first company to mass produce intentional candles that really help people change their lives for the better.   That is basically our philosophy.  You can have a better life and whatever you need help with, “we have a candle for that” and instructions on how to do it.  Now we have a book for that. This year Jacki published Coventry Magic.  It‘s about making magic the Coventry way and it’s available on amazon.com of course.

Next year, 2012, is our 20th anniversary. Neither Jacki nor I can believe we’ve been at it that long.  Time truly flies when you are having fun.  We are planning to celebrate big!

I hope you enjoyed this interview with Patricia Shaw and that you’ll check out her book Healers Almanac, Journey into Health with Wisdom from the 21st Century Goddesses at http://healingwithpattyshaw.com/launch-bonuses

Here’s why you’ll want to do that:

When you visit the page at the link above and request a “launch reminder”, you will automatically receive a FREE gift from Patty. The audios from her Get Healthy Stay Healthy Seminar.

These recordings are completely free
“no purchase necessary” gifts from Patty

FREE GIFTS

When you buy Patty’s book on Thursday January 5, 2012, you can ALSO receive many inspiring and uplifting gifts from brilliant authors, speakers, coaches and other enlightened professionals from the four corners of the world.

To claim your GHSH seminar (5 audios in all) and read about the free gifts, go to: http://healingwithpattyshaw.com/launch-bonuses

Thanks for reading! As usual, please feel free to share your comments and thoughts below. I love reading your feedback.

AND… be sure to follow Patty tomorrow when the next stop on the Blog Tour is with Storm Cestavani, who will be discussing with Patty, when to use Traditional vs. Alternative Healing. To visit that “stop” on the tour, go to www.psychicfriendslive.com.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

